IAPS education
Photo by Bill Canright

UCT Scholarship

The Urania Christy Tarbet Legacy Scholarship (the UCT Scholarship) provides the opportunity for up to five pastel artists to study with an IAPS-recognized instructor of their choice in a hands-on workshop environment at the biennial IAPS Convention. Initiated by and named after IAPS founder Urania Christy Tarbet, the scholarship program honors her wish to encourage, support and advance the artistic endeavors of pastel artists who are affiliated with IAPS member societies.

The UCT Scholarship receives its funding from the proceeds of the Paint Around event that is the official kick-off for the IAPS Convention. Five of the Convention's instructors work concurrently on five different paintings, which they all sign and then are placed for Silent Auction. The winners of the paintings are announced during the Saturday Night Banquet.

IAPS member societies receive notification and the requirements for their membership to participate. All applications are made through the Scholarship Application page on this website.

The scholarship application period for the 2019 Convention has concluded, and we are no longer accepting applications. The IAPS Scholarship Committee will be in contact with all those who applied. Thank you for your applications!

Previous winners of the UCT Scholarship are:
Linda S. Boatwright
Christine Bodnar
Barbara Clark
Heather Collins
Rita Elaine Elkins
Claudette Gamache
Judy Greenwald
Sue Hunter
Jan Hutchinson
Lucinda Johnson
Lorraine McFarland
Louise Muelhaupt
Sally Prince
Janice St Marie
Monique Straub
Ingrid Van Slyke
Jill Wagner
Stephen S. Zigich

UCT Scholarship Instructors have included:
Alan Flattmann
Terri Ford
Liz Haywood-Sullivan
Kim Lordier
Brenda Mattson
Maggie Price
Urania Christy Tarbet